Of Ceiling Boxes and Blogs

I’ve never really thought of myself as a leader.  I worked hard at what I did, whether it was school or my job or volunteering.  I really just wanted to (and still want to) be good at what I do.

I’ve only recently  started to realize that people are seeking me out because I am pretty good at what I do.  My last year at Volunteer Maryland started to drive it home for me.  From working with Habitat for Humanity of the Chesapeake, to bringing people together to talk to nonprofit leaders about social media, to going to New York to talk about how nonprofits can use blogs for outreach.  All of it happened because people recognized that I knew what I was talking about, or that I was willing to learn what they had to teach me and share what I’d learned with other people.

It’s happening again, too.  Last Friday I volunteered with Habitat of Greater Indianapolis, and the crew leader gave me a person and a task and just let me do it.  I took a bit longer to do it than I needed, but I got to teach the person I was working with how to do a bunch of different things on their own.  The crew leader came up to me at the end of the day and thanked me for my work, and for showing other people how to do things.  They wished I could stay on longer than I could-serving here is only temporary until I nail down a job.

I might be getting another really big recognition that I’m good at what I do.  I can’t say much about it right now, but I’m really excited about it.  If it pans out, I’ll write about it on Friday.

As for now, I’m on a Habitat build today at a new site.  Here’s hoping we’re framing!

Leave a Reply

